American Jewish Committee, Office of War Records (I-9)
The records consist of documentation of the American Jewish Committee's project to describe Jewish participation in the United States Armed Forces during World War I. The bulk of the material consists of questionnaires that the AJC sent to servicemen to determine Jewish identity, which contain information on personal identification and details of military service. Responses to the questionnaire come from both Jews and non-Jews. In addition, the collection contains office papers concerning the project and a ledger of manuscripts.
Contains correspondence, reports, and other material relating to his work with the Jewish welfare federations of Indianapolis, Cincinnati, and Chicago, and as a field representative of the Jewish Welfare Board in Texas during the First World War. Also includes correspondence, etc., from the professional social work groups which he served in various capacities.
Harry R. Rosen Community Building Consultants records (I-577)
The Harry R. Rosen Community Building Consultants Records consist of photographs, research, and administrative documentation by and for the dozens of Jewish Community Centers (JCCs) in the United States, Canada, and Israel that Harry R. Rosen and his firm helped develop from the 1970s to the early 2000s.
Informal Committee on Commemoration of the Jewish Military Chaplaincy records (I-44)
Contains the correspondence, minutes, and activities of the Informal Committee, co-ordinated by the National Jewish Welfare Board and composed of ten national Jewish organizations involved in the planning of the celebration of the centennial of the appointment of the first Jewish chaplain in the Armed Forces of the United States in 1862, in various cities of the U.S. Part of the material concerns the publication Rabbis in uniform (N.Y., Jonathan David, 1962), issued in connection with the celebration
Primarily correspondence of United States House of Representative of New York State, Congressman Isaac Siegal (1915-1923) with the United States War Department (1917-1919) and the Jewish Welfare Board (later The National Jewish Welfare Board) regarding personnel and especially Jewish personnel in the Armed Forces, including letters from John J. Pershing and Secretary of the Navy Franklin D. Roosevelt.
Correspondence, memoranda, minutes, reports, official documents and other similar materials pertaining to Kraft's long career in Jewish Social Service at the JWB, the JDC and related organizations.
Contains correspondence, memoranda, speeches, etc. to various departments on the National Jewish Welfare Board, the Anti-Defamation League, and the Jewish War Veterans of the U.S. relating to Jewish personnel in the U.S. Armed Forces during World War II. The collection also contains personal family correspondence while Weill was serving overseas during World War I, memorabilia and a scrapbook relating to these military experiences, and undated typescript copies of dramatic sketches.