Adler was active in Jewish affairs and history, in the American Jewish Historical Society, the Jewish Theological Seminary, the United Synagogue, the American Jewish Committee, the Jewish Agency for Palestine, The Jewish Encyclopedia, the National Jewish Welfare Board, and he participated in the 1919 Paris Peace Conference. The collection represents a small portion of Adler's papers with materials concerning Jewish activism, Conservative Judaism, and Jewish scholarship and history in America. The collection contains correspondence, galleys and page proofs, manuscripts and published articles, clippings, notes, speeches, and ephemera.
Cortell Family Collection (AR-10552) [Collection is digitized and available online]
This collection contains family trees, marriage records and passports from the 19th century and 1930s, as well as correspondence and several photographs documenting Jules Cortell's professional and philanthropic activities.
The collection contains papers of Jerry Goodman, the founding director of the National Conference on Soviet Jewry, the largest and most influential organization created by the American Jews to coordinate efforts on behalf of Soviet Jews, which survives today as NCSJ: Advocates on Behalf of Jews in Russia, Ukraine, the Baltic States & Eurasia.
Judah family (New York, Montreal, Indiana) papers (P-78) [Collection is digitized and available online]
Contains the correspondence of Gen. John Taylor to Bernard Judah about his father, Samuel's, pro-revolutionary activities in Montreal in 1774, describing in detail the provisions he supplied the American forces and questioning the propriety of Gen. Benedict Arnold's involvement.
The Howard Lenhoff Papers were generated and accumulated by Howard Lenhoff starting with his involvement with the American Association for Ethiopian Jews (AAEJ) in 1974 and running up until his final preparations for his book, Black Jews, Jews and Other Heroes: How Grassroots Activism Led to the Rescue of the Ethiopian Jews (2007). In addition to chronicling Lenhoff’s participation in AAEJ, the collection documents AAEJ’s relationships with other activists and organizations; Israeli government officials’ responses to AAEJ pressure; requests for help and stories of trauma from the Ethiopian Jews; AAEJ’s extensive publicity efforts; and American Jewish press coverage of the struggles of Ethiopian Jewry.
Polier was a lawyer, attorney for Free Synagogue Child Adoption Committee, Chairman of American Jewish Congress' National Governing Council and the Commission on Law and Social Action. This collection contains the personal and professional papers of Shad Polier, including legal files from cases with which Polier was involved concerning and civil liberties, articles and speeches by Polier, correspondence, and materials from several of the organizations with which Polier was affiliated, including the American Jewish Congress, the World Jewish Congress and the NAACP. These materials reflect his widespread participation with the civil liberties movement, equal rights and anti-discrimination.
Abraham Shoenfeld Papers (P-884)
Under the employ of the New York Kehillah, detective Abraham Shoenfeld (1891-1977) infiltrated and documented Jewish crime rings, prostitution houses and gambling establishments from 1912 to 1917. For the American Jewish Committee from 1938 to 1964, he investigated anti-Semitic organizations and individuals.
Milton Steinberg (1903-1950) Papers (P-369)
In a professional career that lasted a little over twenty years he served as rabbi at three synagogues, mainly at the Park Avenue Synagogue. In addition he was active in the community at large working with many Jewish community and civic organizations. The Milton Steinberg (1903-1950) Papers documents the personal and intellectual life of the American author, philosopher, rabbi, teacher, and theologian. The collection contains correspondence, writings, photographs, audio recordings, and memorabilia.
Contains correspondence on a variety of topics, including his nomination to the position of State Senator of New York. Of special interest are typed copies of letters written to Straus by E.M. Bluestone describing the situation in Palestine after the earthquakes of 1927, and how Straus's money was being used.