Search the collections at the Center for Jewish History
The Center for Jewish History is home to hundreds of valuable resources on Belarussian Landsmanshaftn. In addition to YIVO’s extensive Landsmanshaftn collection, the Center’s other partner organizations such as the American Jewish Historical Society (AJHS) as well as the Ackman & Ziff Genealogy Institute include countless holdings relating to your research of Belorussian Landsmanshaftn.
Before you search the Center’s online catalog for a specific landsmanshaftn make sure to first ask the librarian for the most current paper finding aid to YIVO’s Landsmanshaftn Collection. While the Jewish Genealogical Society of New York (JGSNY) has independently put together a helpful online list of the all the organizations included in YIVO’s collection, the paper finding aid at the Center contains more updated information on YIVO’s holdings.
Minsker Ladies Benevolent Society, 1948,1957-1974 (RG 907)
The Minsker Ladies Benevolent Society was organized in 1895 in New York by immigrants from Minsk, Byelorussia. This organization provided sick and death benefits as well as burial services for its members. The organization was dissolved in 1974.
This small collection contains meeting notes from the years 1970-1971, correspondences between members, financial records from 1957-1971 as well as materials pertaining to burial.
Minsker Independent Benevolent Association (RG 1924)
The Minsker Independent Benevolent Association was founded in 1892. This organization provided free loan fund and benefits to sick and members in distress. The organization acted as a burial society, covering funeral expenses of its members as well as acted in part as a philanthropic organization, donating money to Jewish causes and organizations.
This collection includes two boxes. Box 1 includes several different ledger books. Inside these ledger books are different memos and notes such as how much money specific members owe to the organization and or what dues they have already paid. Many of these notes list specific costs and expenses. While most of these ledgers books are in English, there are parts of it in Yiddish as well. Box 2 includes various event invitations, meeting notes, and speeches that members of the organizations made at events and meetings.
Progressive Slutzker Young Men Benevolent Ass-n. New York, 1939. (015001351)
The 35th Anniversary Journal includes speeches by members of the organization, advertisements from local businesses, notes of congratulations from other organizations created by immigrants from Slutsk. From the speeches included in the journal, one can discover some of the initiatives the society took part in as well as commentary on their life in Slutzk.
Slutzker Branch 500 of the Workmen’s Circle, (File 190) Bund Archives (RG 1400)
Established in 1913, Slutzker Branch 500 was a branch of the Workmen’s Circle that was founded by immigrants from Slutzk, Russia. The organization provided members with sick and burial benefits as well as cultural activities. This small folder includes an invitation (in English) to a Purim celebration that the organization held as well as a couple of newspaper clippings about the organization and their activities from the Yiddish Daily Forward.
Progressive Slutzker Young Men’s Benevolent Association. 1954-1984 (RG 1802)
Founded in 1904, The Progressive Slutzker Young Men’s Benevolent Association provided burial and sick benefits to members as well as sponsored lectures, concerts, and other cultural activities. Included in this box is the organization's 50th Anniversary Journal. The journal includes speeches by members of the organization, advertisements from local businesses, notes of congratulations from other organizations created by immigrants from Slutsk. From the speeches included in the journal, one can discover some of the initiatives the society took part in as well as commentary on their life in Slutzk.
Minsker Progressive Branch No. 99
Established in 1906 by immigrants from Minsk Province, The Minsker Progressive Branch 99 was a fraternal organization affiliated with The Workmen’s Circle. Like other immigrant organizations, the Minsker Progressive Branch No. 99 provided sick and burial benefits to its members.
This journal was published for the branch’s 40th Anniversary Jubilee. This journal includes important essays and remarks by members and officials of the organization. Throughout these short essays, members acknowledge their life in America, recall what their life was like back in Minsk as well as write about the strong pride they have of being from Minsk.
Slutzk and Vicinity Memorial Book. YIVO Library Memorial Books Collection (Slutsk 1962)
The Slutzk and Vicinity Memorial book is a helpful resource for both the study of Jewish life specifically in Slutzk as well as what life was like for immigrants from Slutzk when they came to America. This is a book full of personal anecdotes from Slutzkers (people from Slutzk) both before and during the holocaust. There a specific section in the book titled “Slutzkers in America” which can contextualize the activities of the various Slutzk landsmanshaftn as well as Jewish immigrant life in America. While a majority of the book is in Yiddish and Hebrew, there are a couple of pages in English at the beginning. Most of the book has also been translated into English by members of JewishGen. To view the translation: http://www.jewishgen.org/yizkor/slutsk/slu409.html
Kliger, Hannah. Communication and Ethnic Community : The Case of Landsmanshaftn. 1985. Print.