Ancestry Library Edition is a comprehensive online resource for family history which includes many collections, such as the U.S. Immigration Collection, the U.S. Census Collection, and the Jewish Family History Collection. It is geared toward genealogists and family history researchers.
Record types include, but are not limited to: Census Records, Vital Records, Military Records, Naturalization Records, Directories, Jewish Welfare Board Chaplaincy Records, Jewish Welfare Board War Records, Records of the Hebrew Orphan Asylum of the City of New York, Records of the Brooklyn Hebrew Orphan Asylum, Hebrew Sheltering Guardian Society.
Jewish Studies Source is a rich full-text database offering a multidisciplinary view of Jewish civilization, from its historical origins to the present. It provides hundreds of publications devoted to Jewish studies, including scholarly journals, magazines, books, monographs, biographies and more.
JSTOR is an archive of important scholarly journals. In addition to a comprehensive list of general interest titles, we provide access to Jewish Studies and Hebrew Journals.
MyHeritage Library Edition is the industry's most multilingual family history research database. It includes billions of historical documents from 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes and additional resources that span the past five centuries.
MyHeritage Library Edition includes birth, death and marriage records; the complete U.S. and U.K. censuses; immigration, military and tombstone records; and nearly 5 billion family tree profiles. New exclusive content is added daily, with more than 100 million records added every month.
The ProQuest Historical Newspaper Database of The New York Times is a searchable database of full page, full text articles from 1851 to 2015. "This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time." --ProQuest
Alternative Names: NY Times, NYT
Keywords: Biography, Genealogy, History, HNP, New York, NY, NYC, Periodicals, Press, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, Social Studies
"ProQuest’s Historical Newspapers: American Jewish Newspapers compilation enables researchers to investigate Jewish immigration, genealogy, history and so much more. [...] The Historical Newspapers: American Jewish Newspapers is comprised of four historical U.S. Jewish newspapers: The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), The American Israelite (1854-1922), and Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)." --ProQuest
"The Historical Newspapers: American Jewish Newspapers collection enables researchers to investigate the rise of Zionism and the formation of U.S. policies toward the state of Israel, complemented by Historical Newspaper titles." --ProQuest.
Related Titles: American Hebrew and Jewish Messenger, Jerusalem Post, Jewish Advocate, American Israelite, Jewish Exponent
Keywords: Biography, Genealogy, History, Jewish Newspapers, Jewish Press, Jewish Studies, Jewish-American Response to the Holocaust, Jewish-Americans and Israel, Social Studies, The Americas
This is the searchable online version of the Comprehensive Yiddish-English Dictionary edited by Solon Beinfeld and Harry Bochner, published by Indiana University Press in 2013.
This dictionary includes: "Broad coverage of Yiddish words of all origins: Hebrew-Aramaic, Slavic, and Romance as well as Germanic. More words, and more idiomatic usages than in previous Yiddish-English dictionaries. More user-friendly, without the complicated abbreviations and signs found in older works. Many regional and dialectal variants are included alongside standard literary Yiddish forms." --Verterbukh
MyHeritage Library Edition is the industry's most multilingual family history research database. It includes billions of historical documents from 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes and additional resources that span the past five centuries.
MyHeritage Library Edition includes birth, death and marriage records; the complete U.S. and U.K. censuses; immigration, military and tombstone records; and nearly 5 billion family tree profiles. New exclusive content is added daily, with more than 100 million records added every month.
