Search the collections at the Center for Jewish History
General
Romania Special Interest Group website within the JewishGen website. This is a website hosted by JewishGen that is maintained by people interested in Jewish genealogy in the historic Romanian territories. The website has links to many resources relating to that topic.
Bessarabia Special Interest Group website within the JewishGen website. This is a website hosted by JewishGen that is maintained by people interested in Jewish genealogy in the region historically known as Bessarabia, an area now comprising the Moldova Republic and parts of Ukraine, as well as including Transnistria (Pridnestrovie), a small area adjacent to the eastern border of Bessarabia that has proclaimed its independence of the Moldova Republic. The website has links to many resources relating to this region.
Hungary Special Interest Group website within the JewishGen website. This is a website hosted by JewishGen that is maintained by people interested in Jewish genealogy in the area known as “Greater Hungary” or pre-Trianon Hungary and covers all those areas that were once predominantly Hungarian-speaking, including territory now in Romania that was in Hungary before World War I, including Transylvania, Maramureș, and the Banat. The website has links to many resources relating to this region.
The JewishGen Romania-Moldova database is an index of tens of thousands of records related to Romania from different sources.
Romanian Jewish Heritage page, created by B’nai Brith International and the Federation of Jewish Communities of Romania.
Online historical directories for Bucharest and Romania from select years between 1923 and 1959.
A searchable database of historical directories, yizkor books, military lists, and community and personal histories, mostly from Central and Eastern Europe, including Romania, in various languages.
Routes to Roots Foundation’s Archive Database allows you to search for an ancestral town in Eastern Europe, including Moldova, and learn where Jewish and civil records from that town are currently held.
Lo-Tishkach European Jewish Cemeteries Foundation has a database of cemeteries in Europe, including Romania and Moldova.
Various name lists [Hebrew only] pertaining to the Jews of Sighet, especially from the Holocaust era.
Bukovina
Czernowitz blog of Edgar Hauster: contains pdf files of Bukovina censuses from 1869-1900
Jewish heritage sites in Bukovina
Austro-Hungarian Military Records
A Guide for Locating Austro-Hungarian Military Records
Sources for Genealogical Research at the Austrian War Archives in Vienna [PDF]
Fully searchable and viewable World War I casualty lists for Austria-Hungary from the Upper Austria Regional Library's Digital Collections