There are several controlled vocabularies that are composed entirely of genre/form headings, and there are also others that include genre and form headings within their broader scopes. Most of the thesauri that are dedicated to genre/form headings are specific to a particular type of material or discipline. Some of the others, including LCSH, are multidisciplinary but include many other types of headings (e.g., topical, geographic) in addition to genre/form headings.
LCGFT, on the other hand, is envisioned as a broad-based multidisciplinary thesaurus composed of only genre/form terms.
A partial list includes:
a) Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). [Library of Congress. Policy and Standards Division]: multidisciplinary but include many other types of headings (e.g., topical, geographic) in addition to genre/form headings.
b) Library of Congress: LCGFT: The genre/form thesaurus is separate from LCSH, and as of June, 2010, has been entitled Library of Congress Genre/Form Terms for Library and Archival Materials, or LCGFT.
The goal of LCGFT headings is to describe the expression, not the manifestation or item. In other words, the headings refer to the intellectual or artistic expression of a work, not to the physical carrier. This manifestation-level information, such as whether a library owns the work on DVD, VHS, or podcast, or all three) is provided in the descriptive portions of the bibliographic record and/or in the holdings record. The Policy and Standards Division (PSD) of the Library of Congress continues to develop genre/form headings on a discipline-by-discipline basis, LCGFT headings are faceted. Unlike in LCSH, in which headings usually consist of strings that are created by catalogers on the fly, following sometimes complex rules, LCGFT headings are single words or phrases that contain only one concept and are entirely contained within subfield $a.
The LCGFT is a work in “active development”, so far cartography, law, music and religion are implemented, music and literature are on the timeline.
| LCSH & LCGFT ACCESS | |
|
LoC authority database (LCSH + LCGFT together) |
http://authorities.loc.gov/ |
|
LoC subject headings (and classification) (LCSH + LCGFT separate, subscription necessary |
http://classificationweb.net/Auto/ |
|
LoC Access to various Authorities and Vocabularies |
http://id.loc.gov/ |
a) Library of Congress: Thesaurus for Graphic Materials (TGM). [Library of Congress. Prints and Photographs Division]
| TGM ACCESS | |
|
Thesaurus for Graphic Materials II: Genre and Physical Characteristic Terms (TGM II, gmgpc) |
http://www.loc.gov/lexico/servlet/lexico/?usr=pub-1:0&op=frames&db=TGM_II |
b) Art and Architecture Thesaurus (AAT). [Getty Art History Information Program]
| AAT ACCESS | |
| Art & Architecture Thesaurus (aat) | http://www.getty.edu/research/conducting_research/vocabularies/aat/1 |
c) RBMS’s thesaurus for book terminology (book binding, paper) for use in rare book collections
| ALA/RBMS ACCESS | |
|
RBMS (ALA Rare books and Manuscripts Section) Controlled Vocabularies for Use in Rare Book and Special Collections Cataloging |
http://www.rbms.info/committees/bibliographic_standards/controlled_vocabularies/index.shtml |
d) YUM’s Lexicon of ceremonial textiles, objects, documents etc.
| YUM's Lexicon | |
| Collection of form and genre headings related to ceremonial objects, textiles, documents, clothing, architecture, books and ms etc |
Yeshiva University Museum's Lexicon is a private list of terms [no URL available]. |
e) Ethnographic Thesaurus (ET). [American Folklore Society and American Folklife Center of the Library of Congress]
f) Genre Terms: A Thesaurus for Use in Rare Book and Special Collections Cataloguing. [Association of College and Research Libraries]
g) Guidelines on Subject Access to Individual Works of Fiction, Drama, Etc. (GSAFD). [American Library Association]
h) Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). [U.S. National Library of Medicine]
i) Moving Image Genre-Form Guide (MIGFG). [Library of Congress. Motion Picture, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound Division]
j) Moving Image Materials: Genre Terms (MIM). [American Film Institute and Library of Congress]
k) Radio Form-Genre Guide (RADFG). [Library of Congress. Motion Picture, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound Division]
Search the collections at the Center for Jewish History
Art and Architecture Thesaurus by